Main Profile

At A Glance

The X Prize: Innovation Through Competition

Complete video at: Peter Diamandis explains the ideas behind his X PRIZE Foundation, an organization designed to inspire scientific and technological breakthroughs by hosting high-profile, high-payoff competitions. ----- Peter Diamandis, Chairman and CEO of the X Prize Foundation, speaks at the Long Now Foundation about the history of the X Prize. The goal of the 10 million dollar prize is to benefit humanity and Diamandis details some of the effects of this generous prize. Dr. Peter Diamandis is the Chairman and CEO of the X PRIZE Foundation, which awarded the $10,000,000 Ansari X PRIZE for private spaceflight. Diamandis is now focused on building the X PRIZE Foundation into a world-class prize institute whose mission is to bring about radical breakthroughs for the benefit of humanity. The X PRIZE is now developing X PRIZEs in fields such as Genomics, Automotive, Education, Medicine, Energy, and Social arenas. Diamandis is an international leader in the commercial space arena, having founded and run many of the leading entrepreneurial companies in this sector. Diamandis also serves as the Chairman and CEO of Zero Gravity Corporation a commercial space company developing private, FAA-certified parabolic flight utilize Boeing 727-200 aircraft. He is the Chairman & co-founder of the Rocket Racing League. Diamandis is a Managing Director and Co-Founder of Space Adventures, the company which brokered the launches of four private citizens to the International Space Station. Dr. Diamandis attended the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where he received his undergraduate degree in molecular genetics and graduate degree in aerospace engineering. After MIT he attended Harvard Medical School where he received his M.D. In 2005 he has was also awarded an honorary Doctorate from the International Space University. He is the winner of the 2007 Arthur C. Clarke Award for Innovation, the 2006 Heinlein Award, the 2006 Lindbergh Award, the 2006 Wired RAVE Award, the 2006 Neil Armstrong Award for Aerospace Achievement and Leadership, the Konstantine Tsiolkovsky Award, twice the winner of the Aviation & Space Technology Laurel, and the 2003 World Technology Award for Space.
Length: 04:01


Questions about The X Prize: Innovation Through Competition

Want more info about The X Prize: Innovation Through Competition? Get free advice from education experts and Noodle community members.

  • Answer