Main Profile

At A Glance

The Creativity of Indie Video Games | Off Book | PBS

The video game industry is now bigger than Hollywood, with hundreds of millions of dollars spent developing these interactive experiences. But there are also small-scale developers working in the indie game realm, creating unique and experimental video games without the budgets of the larger "AAA" games. These indie game developers devote time, money, and take great risks in a quest to realize their creative vision. They deftly balance game mechanics & systems, sound & visuals, and an immersive storytelling experience to push the gaming medium into revolutionary new territory. Much like indie music or indie film, the indie gaming movement provides a creative outlet for game designers who want to work outside of the mainstream. Featuring: Jamin Warren, Kill Screen Magazine Zach Gage, creator of Spelltower Darren Korb, audio designer of Bastion Eddy Boxerman & Andy Nealen, creators of Osmos Leigh Alexander, gaming journalist Music: Leokuon - http://soundcloud.com/leokuon DoKashiteru - http://ccmixter.org/files/DoKashiteru/20513 Ic3m4n - http://ccmixter.org/files/Ic3m4n/15730 Yusuke Tsutsumi - http://soundcloud.com/yusuke-tsutsumi C. Portable - http://ccmixter.org/people/portable Per - http://ccmixter.org/files/Per/23096 Bliss - http://soundcloud.com/blisshenrikjose/bliss-silent-waves Binarpilot - http://soundcloud.com/binarpilot John Bura - http://www.jamendo.com/en/artist/349036/john-bura Games Featured: Owlboy - http://www.owlboygame.com/ Fez - http://fezgame.com/ Botanicula - http://botanicula.net/ Gunpoint - http://www.gunpointgame.com/ Proteus - http://www.visitproteus.com/ Coin - http://www.create-games.com/newspage.asp?id=3624 Scrumbleship - http://www.scrumbleship.com/ Spelunky - http://spelunkyworld.com/ Limbo - http://limbogame.org/ Bastion - http://supergiantgames.com/?page_id=242 Castle Crashers - http://www.castlecrashers.com/ Journey - http://thatgamecompany.com/games/journey/ The Iconoclasts - http://www.konjak.org/index.php?folder=4&file=30 Don't Blow It! http://dinomage.com/dontblowit/ Amelia vs. The Marathon - http://www.troubleimpact.com/ Lost Marbles - http://binarytakeover.com/lostmarblesredux.html Terraria - http://www.terraria.org/ Negative Nimbus - http://www.negativenimbus.com Zombox - http://www.zombox.net/ Braid - http://braid-game.com/ Superbrothers: Sword and Sorcery - http://www.swordandsworcery.com/ Mark of the Ninja - http://www.markoftheninja.com/ Super Meat Boy - http://supermeatboy.com/ Rawbots - http://www.rawbots.net/page/rawbots The Splatters - http://spikysnail.com/ Legend of Grimlock - http://www.grimrock.net/ Bit Trip Runner - http://bittripgame.com/bittrip-runner.html SpellTower - http://www.spelltower.com/ Bit Pilot - http://www.bitpilotgame.com/ Pid - http://www.pidgame.com/ Reset - http://reset-game.net/ Minecraft - https://minecraft.net/ The Binding of Isaac - http://store.steampowered.com/app/113200/ World of Goo - http://www.worldofgoo.com/ Osmos - http://www.hemispheregames.com/osmos/ Tiny Wings - http://www.andreasilliger.com/ God of Blades - http://whitewhalegames.com/godofblades.html Prison Architect - http://www.introversion.co.uk/prisonarchitect/ Dear Esther - http://dear-esther.com/ Corpse Garden - http://7dfps.org/?projects=corpse-garden Amnesia: The Dark Descent - http://www.amnesiagame.com/#main The Moonlighters - http://raddragongames.wordpress.com/the-moonlighters/ Dungeons of Dredmor Necromancer - http://www.gaslampgames.com/ Faster Than Light - http://www.ftlgame.com/ Today I Die - http://www.ludomancy.com/games/today.php?lang=en The Snowfield - http://gambit.mit.edu/loadgame/snowfield.php Symon - http://gambit.mit.edu/loadgame/summer2010/symon_play.php I Wish I Were The Moon - http://www.ludomancy.com/blog/2008/09/03/i-wish-i-were-the-moon/ Passage - http://hcsoftware.sourceforge.net/passage/ The Dream Machine - http://www.thedreammachine.se/ Ico - http://www.icothegame.com/ More Off Book: Our last video on The Art of Web Design: http://youtu.be/3iVVM_DgWY4 A sweet piece on Can Fandom Change Society?: http://youtu.be/B9Zum7azNIQ An examination of The Art of Animation & Motion Graphics: http://youtu.be/X0hVEH4se-0 Our short documentary on Glitch Art: http://youtu.be/gr0yiOyvas4 We took a look at The Art of Logo Design: http://youtu.be/x3jTSB2ez-g Follow Off Book: Twitter: @pbsoffbook Tumblr: http://pbsarts.tumblr.com/ Produced by Kornhaber Brown: http://www.kornhaberbrown.com
Length: 07:34

Contact

Questions about The Creativity of Indie Video Games | Off Book | PBS

Want more info about The Creativity of Indie Video Games | Off Book | PBS? Get free advice from education experts and Noodle community members.

  • Answer

Ask a New Question