Main Profile

At A Glance

The Art of Animation and Motion Graphics | Off Book | PBS

Animation has been captivating audiences for more than a hundred years. From classic forms like hand drawn and stop-motion, to cutting-edge techniques like motion graphics and CGI, animation has a long history of creating style and poetry unachievable through live action filmmaking. It is a tool for educating, a place for experimentation and play, and a way of telling personal stories that reach the viewer with powerful visual metaphors. Featuring: John Canemaker, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Canemaker Jesse Thomas, Jess3 http://jess3.com/ Justin Cone, http://motionographer.com/ Julia Pott http://www.juliapott.com/ Additional artists featured: Dani Wolf https://vimeo.com/daniwolf Lorcan O'Shanahan http://lorcanoshanahan.com K.U. Schneider http://www.ku-schneider.com silja https://vimeo.com/lasilja Emrah Gonulkirmaz https://vimeo.com/default Phil Borst https://vimeo.com/philborst Mario Brauer https://vimeo.com/algoriddim Ion Lucin http://www.behance.net/ionL AAU VFX http://www.movecraft.com Michiel Verweij https://vimeo.com/michielverweij Michael Pelton https://vimeo.com/user1410263 Simon Bronson https://vimeo.com/simonbronson Andriy Blyznyuk https://vimeo.com/abcreativemind Nicolas Lichtle https://vimeo.com/nicolaslichtle Mike Polak https://vimeo.com/goutmoment Ed Rhine https://vimeo.com/user2971882 Daniel Savage https://vimeo.com/somethingsavage Nicholas Polowy https://vimeo.com/npolowy Francesco Indaco https://vimeo.com/bewegendebeelden VinhSon Nguyen http://www.creativedojo.net/ Anders Goberg https://vimeo.com/agoberg Music: Henrik Jose - http://soundcloud.com/henrikjose Professor Kliq - http://soundcloud.com/professorkliq Mindthings - http://music.mindthings.net/album/lifes-path-reissue Kynset - http://soundcloud.com/kynset Bliss - http://soundcloud.com/blisshenrikjose/bliss-do-you-remember-how-it Grace Valhalla - http://soundcloud.com/grace-valhalla Hack The System - http://soundcloud.com/hackthesystem More Off Book: Our last video on Glitch Art: http://youtu.be/gr0yiOyvas4 We took a look at The Art of Logo Design: http://youtu.be/x3jTSB2ez-g A sweet piece on the amazing Worlds of Viral Video: http://youtu.be/eWTx-NDCwSk A meditation on slow-motion, time-lapse, photo micrography, and astrophotography: http://youtu.be/nWX4O7K5pyA Our short documentary on The Evolution of 8-Bit Art: http://youtu.be/xYL1DsY8GMI Follow Off Book: Twitter: @pbsoffbook Tumblr: http://pbsarts.tumblr.com/ Produced by Kornhaber Brown: http://www.kornhaberbrown.com
Length: 06:43

Contact

Questions about The Art of Animation and Motion Graphics | Off Book | PBS

Want more info about The Art of Animation and Motion Graphics | Off Book | PBS? Get free advice from education experts and Noodle community members.

  • Answer

Ask a New Question