Main Profile

At A Glance

How to Opt Out of a Full Body Scan at an Airport

SALE TODAY: Learn Piano on iOS http://bit.ly/PianoAppSale http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-opt-out-of-full-body-scanning-at-an-airport http://www.mahalo.com/full-body-scanner-images Nearly 70 U.S. airports are now equipped with nearly 400 so-called "full-body scanners," a type of sophisticated technology that provides detailed images of passengers as they prepare to board planes.? According to the TSA, the scanners allow workers to detect any metallic (or non-metallic) objects on a person that could "pose a threat to aviation security."? These scanners can actually see through the clothes of travelers. The technology has some passengers up in arms, claiming that the full-body scanners are too invasive and pose a privacy threat.? One group is even calling for a "National Opt-Out Day" on November 24, 2010 - the day before Thanksgiving, traditionally a very busy travel day in the air. What passengers may not know is that they can choose to opt out of getting a full-body scan.? According to the TSA's official website, doing so will result in a passenger receiving "alternative screening, including a physical pat-down." How can you, as a passenger, opt out of a full-body scan?? First, you'll need to determine whether your airport even has the special scanner machines.? A full list of all airports who either have or will soon have full-body scanners can be found on the TSA's official website.? Approximately 68 airports currently utilize what the TSA calls "advanced imaging technology." If your airport does have full-body scanning, you'll need to tell TSA officials that you don't want it.? Simply explain that you'd like to "opt out" of the screening while you're in the security line.? Be aware, however, that just because you opt out of the total body scan, this does not mean you won't be screened.? Instead of the body scan, you'll likely be given a full-body pat down by a TSA worker - this process could be "time-consuming."? You may also be ordered to remove everything from all of your pockets - including things that previously were not subject to screening.? All of this could result in you spending additional time going through already long security lines at U.S. airports - something to plan for if you'll be flying in the near future. Check out our Mahalo webpages: How to Book a Cheap Flight: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-book-a-cheap-flight How to Speak Spanish: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-speak-spanish How to Write a Television Script: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-write-a-television-script How to Decorate Thanksgiving Cupcakes: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-decorate-thanksgiving-cupcakes How to Roast a Turkey: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-roast-a-turkey Stove Top Stuffing Coupons: http://www.mahalo.com/stove-top-stuffing-coupons How to Make a Texas Tea: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-make-a-texas-tea How to Say Merry Christmas in Korean: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-say-merry-christmas-in-korean How to Ask a Girl Out: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-ask-a-girl-out How to Get an AIDS Test: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-get-an-aids-test Learn anything at these Mahalo Youtube playlists: Celebs in 60 Seconds: http://www.youtube.com/my_playlists?p=AA094BA366DB9B7B Thanksgiving: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=2ED6B9D3D5E65043 How To Make Cocktails: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=87EED90408981564 How to Treat STDs: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=3E7B9F1C31BEF412 How To Play Guitar Songs: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=BE077DEF7EB33D00 How To Play Piano Songs: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=64CB0D9415B2B27A How to Speak Korean: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=CFD5322C76EEBB0F How To Speak French: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=D2521D2616635BAF How To Speak Italian: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=887048ECD49FDF31 Mahalo Daily Videos: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=4F1A4F3978CDD3EC
Length: 02:18

Contact

Questions about How to Opt Out of a Full Body Scan at an Airport

Want more info about How to Opt Out of a Full Body Scan at an Airport? Get free advice from education experts and Noodle community members.

  • Answer

Ask a New Question