Main Profile

At A Glance

Slavery and the American Revolution

"Slavery and the American Revolution," a Podcast by Dr. Katherine Bankole-Medina. IMAGES/PHOTOGRAPHIC SOURCES: Katherine Bankole-Medina Collection; Historic Photographs ("Sons of Africa," "Distinguished Colored Men," "Potter Jackson," "Free Blacks in the North," "Tree of Liberty," the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. http://www.loc.gov/pictures/; "Antique Pistol 7," ? Copyright Sundown, http://www.dreamstime.com/free-stock-photo-antique-pistol-7-rimagefree422901-resi3420531; "Bronze Cannon," ? Copyright Yali Shi, http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-images-bronze-canon-rimagefree112172-resi3420531; "Fire Under a Kettle of Apple Butter," ? Copyright Christina Richards, http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-photos-fire-under-a-kettle-of-apple-butter-rimagefree1419219-resi3420531; "Historic Gristmill," ? Copyright, Ken Cole, http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-images-historic-gristmill-rimagefree735556-resi3420531. "Mature Cotton," ? Copyright, Softdreams, http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-photo-mature-cotton-rimagefree11530264-resi3420531; "Peter Salem Gravestone," Negroartist.com, http://negroartist.com/REVOLUTIONAY%20WAR/pages/Peter%20Salem's%20gravestone_jpg.htm; "Private Property Plate," ? Copyright John Emmaneel, http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-photos-private-property-plate-rimagefree620379-resi3420531; "Tobacco's Leaves," ? Copyright, Rafal Zajczewski, http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-photo-tobacco-s-leaves-rimagefree1302688-resi3420531; "Tobacco Leaves Drying" ? Copyright, Piotr Rydzkowski, http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-images-tobacco-leaves-drying-rimagefree1341164-resi3420531; "Woodpile at Fort Stanwix," ? Copyright Debra Millet, http://www.dreamstime.com/free-stock-image-woodpile-at-fort-stanwix-rimagefree9762702-resi3420531; "Yellow Cobblestones," ? Copyright Murray Douglas, http://www.stockvault.net/photo/110192/yellow-cobblestones; "Black and White Portrait of African Women," ? Copyright Smandy, Dreamstime.com; "Stone African Head Closeup," ? Copyright, Marek Lambert, http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-photo-stone-african-head-closeup-rimagefree411832-resi3420531. (c) Copyright 2011 Katherine Bankole-Medina, Fanny Jackson Coppin Digital History Institute and History Is A State Of Mind Productions. "You have in a common cause fought and triumphed together..." from George Washington's Farewell Address, September 27, 1796
Length: 07:03

Contact

Questions about Slavery and the American Revolution

Want more info about Slavery and the American Revolution? Get free advice from education experts and Noodle community members.

  • Answer

Ask a New Question